Sarovaram is an eco-friendly development near Kottooly in Kozhikode city in India. The park is situated adjacent to Canoly Canal. The project has been developed with an eco-friendly theme and is located in an ecosystem consisting of wetlands and mangrove forests containing bird habitats.
Beypore or Beypur is an ancient port town and a locality town in Kozhikode district in the state of Kerala, India. The place was formerly known as Vaypura / Vadaparappanad. Tippu Sultan, ruler of Mysore, named the town "Sultan Pattanam". There is a marina and a beach while Beypore port is one of the oldest ports in Kerala, which historically traded with the Middle East. Beypore is noted for building wooden ships, known as dhows or urus in the Malayalam language. These ships were usually bought by Arab merchants for trading and fishing but are now used as tourist ships. According to Captain Iwata, founder member of the Association of Sumerian ships in Japan, Sumerian ships might have been built in Beypore. There is evidence to prove that Beypore had direct trade links with Mesopotamia and was a prominent link on the maritime silk route.
Pazhassi Raja Archaeological Museum is a museum and art gallery in Kozhikode, Kerala. The museum has a rich collection of historical artifacts from 1000 BC to 200 AD.
The building that houses the museum was constructed in the year 1812 and was then known as East Hill Bungalow. The bungalow was converted to an archaeological museum in 1976. In the year 1980, the building was renamed as the Pazhassi Raja Archaeological Museum.
The museum has exhibits from the megalithic age and the Indus Valley Civilization. The exhibits include ancient pottery, toys, stone and other metal sculptures. Coins, Models of temples, Burial urns and umbrella stones (tomb stones of rulers) are part of the museums's collection. The museum also has a collection of war weapons used by British soldiers and the official caps of British and French soldiers.
The special collections of the museum include the Panchaloha idols and stone statues described as ‘War heroes
The Kadalundi bird sanctuary in Kozhikode district is spread over a cluster of islands in a scenic area surrounded by hillocks where the Kadalundi River flows into the Arabian Sea. This land has over 60 species of migratory birds that visits it during different times of the year. One can see seagulls, terns, sandpipers, sand plovers, red and greenshanks, turnstones and so on with November to April being the ideal viewing time. This is indeed a paradise designed especially for bird lovers
This is one of the oldest krishna temples in calicut. It is situated in meenchanda. The temple is nicely maintained with peaceful atmoshpere.There is a big beautigul tank in front of the temple with lot of fishes. The krishna idol is beautiful and pleasing. There is a big banyan tree in front of the temple.There is no dress restrictions to visit this temple
Mishkal Mosque is a medieval mosque located in Calicut on Malabar Coast, southern India. The mosque, one of the few surviving medieval mosques in Malabar, is regarded as an important cultural, historical and architectural monument of Kerala.
Mother of God Cathedral, situated close to Beach Road, is locally known as Valiyapally. The church is the headquarters of the Roman Catholic congregation in Malabar.
The church has a history that dates back to 1513, when the Portuguese entered into a treaty with the Zamorins.
The Portuguese built a factory in Kozhikode with the permission of the Zamorin and also a church, dedicated to Virgin Mary of Immaculate Conception. The church was then known as Matrei Dei. The setting up of this church opened a new era for the Catholic congregation of Calicut Diocese.
In1599, the Archbishop of Goa, Dom Alexis de Menezes, visited Kozhikode and had a meeting with the Zamorin, following which the former decided to send more Jesuits to Kozhikode and to renovate the chapel with the Zamorin’s help.
In 1724, the Zamorin entered into another treaty with the Portuguese, by which he promised all support to complete the renovation of the church. The church was rebuilt with stone and mortar and a vestry, porches and a belfry were added to it. In 1923, the church became the Cathedral of the Diocese of Calicut.
Things of interest at the church
The Gothic Cathedral is said to have been designed by Italian architects who were brought all the way to Kozhikode for this sole purpose. The curved arches on the doors and windows, colonnade on the spires and so on stand as testimonies to the superior aesthetic sense of the Italian architects and the skills of the Indian workers who could convert the architects’ visions into concrete form. The neo- Roman architectural style of the elegant structure is prominent in the façade that is flanked by lofty, square towers on either side.
The 200-year-old portrait of St. Mary on a wall of the church draws many tourists. The adjoining cemetery is well maintained. Among the tomb stones, you can find that of Pedro de Covilhany, the first Catholic Missionary to come to Kozhikode
Valayanad Devi temple, dedicated to Bhagavathy, is situated in Valayanad on Mankavu Govindapuram route in the city of Kozhikode. The temple, which faces north, has four gopurams. The Devi temple at Valayanad has its own distinct identity and is different in several respects from other Devi temples in India. It is one of the Saktheya temples where pujas are performed in accordance with practice of Rurujit worship. The presiding deity of this temple is the goddess from Kashmir, known as Chandika, also called Mahartham and Kalasarppini.
The Sreechakra, designed by the great Sivayogi Thayyavur Sivasankar, remains in the sanctum sanctorum, where the presence of the goddess is believed to be ever present. Idols of Shiva, Thevaara Bhagavathi, Lord Ayyappa, and Vigneswara, Khsethrapaalan are also consecrated in this temple. In the sanctum sanctorum on the southern wall idols of Sapthamathrukkal ( seven mother Goddesses) are encarved. An important ritual conducted in this temple is the Guruthy Tharpanam
Tali temple is one of the oldest temples in Kozhikode. The founding and prosperity of Kozhikode city is closely linked with the sanctity of this ancient temple. It is believed that the lingam in the sanctum of the Temple was installed towards the end of Dwaparayuga by Sri. Parasurama. The posture in the sanctum is that of Umamaheswara. Though this divine power existed from time immemorial, the attention of the citizens of Kozhikode was (bestowed on the temple) only by about 1500 years ago. Later on the temple reached its zenith during the rule of the Zamorin of Calicut, who had the prestigious title Sailabdheswara. The temple to its present state was built in the 14th century.
Regional Science Centre & Planetarium Calicut functioning under NCSM (Govt. of India) shoulders the leading role of propelling science in Kerala, especially in the Malabar region. This centre engages itself in dissemination of science through active interaction and participation. It presents a plethora of facilities to inculcate scientific temper in the society. It has mind immersive hybrid planetarium. Further there are mind boggling Science Exhibition Galleries, Mobile & Travelling Science Exhibitions, High Definition 3D Theatre, Auditorium with audio – visual equipments